Removing a User Account

You are here:
Estimated reading time: 1 min

When a member of staff leaves, you will want to remove their account from the system. There are two ways of doing this. Your choice will depend on what you want to happen to the posts and pages that they have published on the site.

Retain Published Posts and Pages

Method 1 – Keep the member of Staff’s name against their posts but make their account inoperable
In order to retain what the member of staff has written, but deactivate their account, you need to change their role to ‘deactivated’ This removes all permissions on that account. You may also want to edit their profile to remove their profile picture and delete any personal information that they have entered there.

Method 2 – Remove user account entirely and assign their publish posts and pages to another user
From the dashboard use the left hand menu to go to Users > All users. Hover over the user that you want to remove. Click Delete. It will now ask you what you want to do with that users content. Click ‘Attribute all content to‘ then select the user from the drop down menu. It will now look as though someone else wrote all their old pages and posts.

Delete User and All Their Previously Published Posts and Pages

From the dashboard use the left hand menu to go to Users > All users. Hover over the user that you want to remove. Click Delete. It will now ask you what you want to do with that users content. Click ‘Delete all content

If the deleted user had been set as the author of a webpage, that page will now disappear from your site. For example, teachers are often set as the author of their class information page in order to allow them to edit it. To avoid this happening, you can either

  • Change the author of any page they may be responsible for prior to deleting them.
  • Retrieve deleted pages from Pages > All Pages then filter to Bin. Hover over the page title and click Restore.
Was this article helpful?
Dislike 0
Views: 40